(Almost) Gone With the Wind

 

As I laid in bed yesterday morning listening to the wind howl, I wondered what we hadn’t secured or put away outside and if we should even bother to let the chickens out in this terrible wind.  They said it was a “record low” for the midwest.  I don’t even know what that means, but I am assuming it means hurricane-forced winds.  I got up and poured myself a cup of coffee and walked from window to window, waiting for first light so that I could peek at the craziness outdoors.  Then I started to see chickens.  They were wandering around near their tractors, soaked and confused, and the tractors weren’t where we left them!   I pulled on my boots and ran outside as the scene was revealing itself. 

That middle tractor must have been lifted and flipped up-side-down about 20 feet from where it was and the other two had been turned.  They all still had chickens in them, even the up-side-down one.  Everyone is alright.  A soon as the sun came up they all started doing what they do every morning; look for food. 

This tractor had to be retired for the season and we brought some of the chickens indoors to their winter quarters.  The chickens outside still seem to favor this one to lay their eggs in, howling wind or not.

2 thoughts on “(Almost) Gone With the Wind

  1. highmeadowfarmcsa Post author

    Thanks! Everything is alright now. I just wonder what county the wild birds ended up in!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

